The first county meeting of 2013 was Wednesday. Seated are Tuscola County Board of Commissioners Chair Thom Bardwell and Vice Chair Roger Allen. Standing are newly seated Commissioners (l-r) Craig Kirkpatrick, Christine Trisch, and Matt Bierlein.

By Mary Drier
Staff Writer

CARO — The first order of county business was selecting a chair and vice chair for the Tuscola County Board of Commissioners.

District #2 Commissioner Thom Bardwell was returned as chair. Then, District #1 Commissioner Roger Allen was selected as board vice chair. He replaces former commissioner Jerry Peterson, who did not seek re-election. They were elected to those positions for two years.

When it came to setting meeting dates and times, there were some changes from the previous schedule.

The regular board meetings will continue to meet on the second Tuesday of the month but now at 7:30 a.m. instead of at 8:30 a.m. Also, the second meeting of the month will now be on the fourth Wednesday instead of the fourth Tuesday. That meeting will also be at 7:30 a.m.

Committee of the whole meetings will continue to be on the second and fourth Thursdays of the month and those too will now be at 7:30 a.m. instead of 8:30 a.m.

As for the county’s two main committees, newly seated Commissioners Craig Kirkpatrick and Christine Trisch will be on the finance – personnel committee, and Allen, and newly seated Commissioner Matt Bierlein will be on the buildings -grounds committee.

Newly seated county Clerk Jodi Fetting will be the board’s parliamentarian.

Mary Drier is a staff writer for the Tuscola County Advertiser. She can be reached at